<div class="ExternalClass7CBA59E64B854E73B050D40CA174D9A0"><div>Construction workers at the V&A Waterfront’s Silo District were surprised this weekend when they discovered a stash of discarded artillery shells estimated to date back to the 1800s. </div><div><br></div><div>They were unearthed during development at the old Grain Silo which is being converted into the state-of-the-art Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art Africa (MOCAA), to showcase the Zeitz Collection of African art.</div><div><br></div><div>The shells have been removed from the site for safekeeping and will be studied by historians and archaeologists. Initial indications however, are that there are two types of shells. The larger solid head pointed shells would have been used in a battering ram against hostile ships, while the smaller shells would have been used in cannons.</div><div><br></div><div>Although the Grain Silo was only built in 1921, the area is steeped in history dating back to as early as 1652. It also forms part of an area that was reclaimed from the sea, so the shells could have been dropped by a ship or they could be connected with the nearby Chavonnes Battery. </div><div><br></div><div>The last significant military discovery at the V&A Waterfront was the old Chavonnes Battery at the Clock Tower Precinct. All traces of the Battery which dates back to 1726, had disappeared and it remained hidden until 1999 when it was unearthed by developers. It now forms part of 22 original historical landmarks that can be explored on a self-guided walking tour. Guided walking tours are available on arrangement with the Chavonnes Battery museum.</div><div><br></div><div>The 22 official landmarks include:<br></div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>Chavonnes Battery – completed in 1726</div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>Dock House – 1870, previously the Harbour Master’s residence</div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>Houses at Portswood Ridge – from 1870 </div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>Patent Slipway – 1879 </div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>Ulundi Parking Garage – 1889, previously the home of Chief               Resident Engineer</div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>Time Ball Tower – 1894, previously repeater station for harbour         signals</div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>NSRI Boathouse  where the first port lifeboat was housed                    in 1898</div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>Harbour Café, originally a harbour tea-room from 1902</div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>Breakwater Prison – 1902, which now houses UCT’s Graduate             School of Business</div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>Old Port Captain’s Building – 1904 </div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>Victoria Basin – 1905 </div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>Union Castle Building – built in 1919 for Union Castle Mail                 Steamship Company</div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>Silo Grain Building – 1924 </div><div>•<span class="Apple-tab-span" style="white-space:pre;"> </span>V&A Hotel, which was formerly a warehouse from the 1930s</div><p>​</p></div>2015-03-06T22:00:00Z

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Dine outdoors at the Waterfront, come rain or shine!Contemporary glass-and-steel awnings to enrich V&A dining experience.2016-10-27T22:00:00Z
Ships Ahoy!​A further R37 million for the V&A Waterfront–operated cruise liner terminal.2016-11-02T22:00:00Z

Top